Mmegi Blogs :: Spotting scams
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 18 September 2018, 23:51 pm.
Banners
Spotting scams

Last week I wrote about the fact that some important things had changed in the writing world.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Spotting scams








Where in the past writers entered writing competitions and submitted their stories to literary magazines and the thought of paying for the opportunity to do that was unheard of.

 Any contest or magazine looking to milk fees from writers was very easily identified as a scammer. In the new world we live in, some legitimate literary magazines and contests charge writers a small fee to submit. So how do we now differentiate between legitimate contests and magazines, and crooks? I want to try and help you navigate these complicated waters.

The first signal you may see you are about to be cheated is the amount being charged. Most legitimate organisations charge at most $3 to submit. If the people are asking for $20, you must read the fine print carefully. Occasionally I’ve seen legit magazines charging a high fee, but the fee includes a subscription to their magazine. I’m not sure what I personally feel about that, it feels a bit manipulative. If I want a subscription I will buy a subscription. So in my world I would no longer submit to this market. But that is a personal decision that each writer must make for themselves.

A scam that is increasing is where a self-published author, who has created a “publishing company” to publishe her own books, will now run a writing contest. There will be a fee to enter and nominal prizes for the winners, judged by the author herself. Often these writing contests are held monthly or bi-monthly. But really, the entire exercise is to raise funds for the self-published writer to publish her books. This is probably a contest that you would want to avoid unless you want to support that author and her book.

Another easily identifiable scam is a submission call-out for stories or poems for an anthology. It seems legit until you submit. Very quickly you will receive an acceptance and you’ll be asked to pre-order copies of the anthology for your friends and family —of course they will all want to see your work in print, the

Banners

anthology publishers remind you. Though you’ve been told the books with your story or poem will be in all bookstores and on Amazon, that’s not exactly true. Yes, there will be a link on Amazon, but there will be no actual published paper books. They will be printed one at a time using print on demand (POD) technology as the “publisher” receives the money for the book by the pre-order arrangement. This is again a money making exercise for the person.

Sometimes folks calling themselves agents, and other sorts of vanity publishers run contests asking for book manuscripts. The “winners” will get a publishing deal or will get representation by the agent. Everyone wins. Just when they are about to go forward with the publication of the book or for the agent to take your book around to pitch to publishers, you must first have your book professionally edited by a certain editor that they have recommended. And this is how they get you. The editor charges a large fee, that you must pay. This is a scam and you should run.

One way to suss out scam contests is to check out who the judges are. Most legitimate contests will list the people who will choose the winners. Google them. Are they established writers or publishers? People who know good writing?

Often contests will list past winners. Check out those lists too. Google those writers. What has happened with them after winning this writing prize? Also, often the winning entries are published online. Read them. Are the stories or poems any good? Would you want your writing being put up next to writing of that sort of standard? The answers will lead you to the answers you need.

Writers, you are walking amongst sharks ready to take advantage of you. Be careful. Question everything — a generally good rule in life, too.

NOTE: Mahalapye Writers’ Club will meet Saturday 8th July 2pm at Mahalapye Brigades (opposite Tamocha Primary School). Bring a sample of your writing to share, no more than 500 words.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 14:43 pm
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 18:17 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:52 pm
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 16:25 pm
Fri 26 May 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 19 May 2017, 12:27 pm
Fri 12 May 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 05 May 2017, 14:32 pm
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 17:33 pm
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 18:29 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:20 pm
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 15:53 pm
Fri 24 Feb 2017, 16:57 pm
Fri 17 Feb 2017, 11:28 am
Fri 10 Feb 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 03 Feb 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 27 Jan 2017, 16:06 pm
Fri 20 Jan 2017, 14:33 pm
Fri 13 Jan 2017, 16:15 pm
Fri 09 Dec 2016, 15:06 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Botswana
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort