Mmegi Online :: Lesotho Prime Minister Thomas Thabane's wife shot dead
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 17 October 2017, 17:42 pm.
Banners
Lesotho Prime Minister Thomas Thabane's wife shot dead

The estranged wife of incoming Lesotho Prime Minister Thomas Thabane has been shot dead two days before his inauguration.
By BBC.COM Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Lesotho Prime Minister Thomas Thabane's wife shot dead








Lipolelo Thabane, 58, was travelling home with a friend when both women were shot by an unknown assailant, the police say.

The police add the motive is unknown and an investigation is continuing.

The couple had been living separately since 2012 and filed for divorce which hasn't been granted yet.

BBC southern Africa correspondent Karen Allen reports that neighbours claim there had been an incident earlier in the week when a group of unidentified men were spotted hammering on the First Lady's door.

She won a high court battle against her husband to secure the privileges of a First

Banners

Lady, instead of Mr Thabane's youngest wife, Liabiloe, reports the AFP news agency.

Mr Thabane is now living with a third wife.

Samonyane Ntsekele, the secretary general of Mr Thabane's All Basotho Convention party, told AFP that the prime minister was devastated by the shooting.

"Everyone is traumatised by these developments," he said.

The election took place earlier this month and was the third election in three years.

There is a bitter power-struggle in the country and Mr Thabane still has enemies in the military, our correspondent adds.

His inauguration is still expected to take place on Friday.

Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:41 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 09:44 am
Wed 10 May 2017, 09:19 am
Tue 09 May 2017, 10:09 am
Wed 26 Apr 2017, 14:59 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 13:19 pm
Wed 19 Apr 2017, 17:30 pm
Tue 04 Apr 2017, 16:37 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 11:11 am
Thu 30 Mar 2017, 10:05 am
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:10 pm
Thu 16 Mar 2017, 15:01 pm
Wed 15 Mar 2017, 14:52 pm
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 06:56 am
Tue 28 Feb 2017, 18:31 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 14:16 pm
Tue 14 Feb 2017, 11:00 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 14:41 pm
Wed 08 Feb 2017, 16:22 pm
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 16:00 pm
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:14 am
Thu 02 Feb 2017, 10:44 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 17:07 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Tuesday, 17 Oct 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.2564
1 GBP = Pula   13.5870
1 EUR = Pula   12.0627
1 YEN = Pula   0.0914
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7672
1 Pula = USD   0.0975
1 Pula = GBP   0.0736
1 Pula = EUR   0.0829
1 Pula = YEN   10.94
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3035
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Snowman
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Thursday 13 Oct - Thursday 19 Oct :::
    The Snowman
    Unlocked
    Blade Runner 2049
    Kingsman: The Golden Circle
    The LEGO Ninjago Movie
  • Previous
    The Snowman
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 13 Oct - Thursday 19 Oct :::
    The Snowman
    Blade Runner 2049
    Kingsman: The Golden Circle
    The Emoji Movie
  • Previous
    Unlocked
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 13 Oct - Thursday 19 Oct :::
    Unlocked
    The Snowman
    Blade Runner 2049
    My Little Pony: The Movie
    Kingsman: The Golden Circle
    IT
Selefu
BDP Recruitment Drive
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort