The Monitor :: Tiger Woods: Alcohol 'not involved' in arrest
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 26 September 2017, 06:00 am.
Banners
Tiger Woods: Alcohol 'not involved' in arrest

Golfer Tiger Woods says alcohol was "not involved" in his arrest while driving in Florida early on Monday.
By BBC.COM Tue 30 May 2017, 14:59 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Tiger Woods: Alcohol 'not involved' in arrest








The player, who was charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI), blamed "an unexpected reaction to prescribed medication".

"I understand the severity of what I did and I take full responsibility for my actions," he said.

Police released a mugshot of Woods, looking unshaven and unkempt, following his arrest in the town of Jupiter.

"I want the public to know that alcohol was not involved. What happened was an unexpected reaction to prescribed medications," he said.

"I didn't realise the mix of medications had affected me so strongly."

He added: "I would like to apologise with all my heart to my family, friends and the fans. I expect more from myself too."

Police records show the 41-year-old golfer was pulled over at about 03:00 local time (07:00 GMT) near his home in Jupiter and later taken

Banners

into custody. He was released from Palm Beach County jail at 10:30 local time.

The record says that he was released "on his own recognisance", meaning he promised in writing to co-operate with future legal proceedings.

Woods has been recovering from back surgery. In his most recent comment about his health, he wrote that the surgery had relieved terrible pain and that he hadn't "felt this good in years".

The 14-time major champion's personal life came under scrutiny in 2009 when he was charged with careless driving outside his Florida home.

He later admitted to having had extra-marital affairs and made a frank public apology. He said he had received professional help and planned to undergo further therapy.

The golfer lost several sponsors over the scandal and took a break from competitive competition.

Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 30 May 2017, 14:59 pm
Tue 09 May 2017, 09:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 15:57 pm
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 16:49 pm
Tue 17 Jan 2017, 07:26 am
Tue 20 Dec 2016, 14:04 pm
Tue 22 Nov 2016, 13:32 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 16:28 pm
Tue 04 Oct 2016, 09:24 am
Tue 13 Sep 2016, 17:04 pm
Tue 06 Sep 2016, 19:24 pm
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 16:58 pm
Tue 16 Aug 2016, 09:57 am
Tue 09 Aug 2016, 12:37 pm
Tue 05 Jul 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 21 Jun 2016, 08:27 am
Wed 04 May 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 03 May 2016, 10:09 am
Tue 12 Apr 2016, 09:17 am
Tue 05 Apr 2016, 09:37 am
Tue 22 Mar 2016, 10:20 am
Tue 01 Mar 2016, 11:15 am
Tue 23 Feb 2016, 09:07 am
Tue 16 Feb 2016, 10:43 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Monday, 25 Sep 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.1833
1 GBP = Pula   13.8122
1 EUR = Pula   12.1359
1 YEN = Pula   0.0907
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7686
1 Pula = USD   0.0982
1 Pula = GBP   0.0724
1 Pula = EUR   0.0824
1 Pula = YEN   11.03
1 Pula = ZAR   1.301
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Emoji Movie
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 22 Sep - Thursday 28 Sep :::
    The Emoji Movie
    American Assassin
    IT
    The Dark Tower
  • Previous
    The Emoji Movie
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 22 Sep - Thursday 28 Sep :::
    The Emoji Movie
    American Assassin
    Home Again
  • Previous
    The Emoji Movie
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 22 Sep - Thursday 28 Sep :::
    The Emoji Movie
    Home Again
    American Assassin
    The Dark Tower
    Girls Trip
Selefu
Ndaba Gaolathe
Banners
Banners