Mmegi Blogs :: This year’s theme is ID
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 25 September 2018, 17:23 pm.
Banners
This year’s theme is ID

Short Story Day Africa (SSDA) is opening for submissions on June 1, 2017 for this year’s competition. They’ll be accepting submissions until July 31.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 26 May 2017, 15:47 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: This year’s theme is ID








The theme this year is ‘ID’.  From their website they say: “This year, we’re looking for innovative short fiction that explores identity, especially (but not limited to) the themes of gender identity and sexuality.  In early psychoanalysis, the ‘ID’ was postulated as being one of three aspects of personality, and the only one over which we have no control.  Often hidden and home to the unconscious, the ID is the core of the self, our instinctual nature, our deepest desires. The I before ego, the earliest version of ourselves, the who we are before we have had time to be.

In modern Africa, our identities are too often defined for us and not by us, trapped by society, biology and history.  In 2017, we hope to see work that seeks to break and redefine the strictures put onto our identities, as individuals and as peoples.  Fiction that looks beyond the boundaries of expectation, and peers into the truest definitions of ourselves.”

You can find complete submission guidelines on their website (http://shortstorydayafrica.org/the-ssda-prize-id/) but here are the highlights:

Any African citizen or African person living in the diaspora, as well as persons residing permanently (granted permanent residence or similar) in any African country, may enter. 

Writers may only submit one story for the competition. Repeat entries by the same writer will be disqualified.

Writers are welcome to submit stories in any fiction genre.

Stories must be between 3,000 and 5,000 words in length.

Stories must be submitted in English. 

 Stories must be submitted online via Submittable between  June 1 and July 31, 2017.  The link to the submission form will be made live on June 1 , 2017.

To facilitate easy reading and judging, please format your stories according to the stipulated format.  Stories not formatted in this way are at

Banners

the risk of being disqualified.

Stories must not have been previously published in any form or any format.

Simultaneous submissions are not welcome.  Any story entered or published elsewhere during the course of judging or publication will be disqualified.

You are welcome to enter under a pseudonym or nom de plume, as long as you also include your real name along with your entry. 

All entries will be judged anonymously. Please DO NOT put your name or any other identifying details anywhere on your manuscript. 

The judges’ decision is final.

By entering, the author agrees to allow SSDA to include their entry in an anthology should it be selected by the judges; and to work with editors to get their story publication ready.

Formatting details include:

Type your document, using a single, clear font, 12-point size, double-spaced. The easiest font to use is Times New Roman, or a similar serif font.

Put the title of your story halfway down the cover page. Please give your story an original title. Please DO NOT title your story ID, SSDA Story or any similar version of such. Start your story immediately below the title.

Put an accurate word count at the top right. 

Please number the pages.

Left-justify your paragraphs.

Ensure there is at least a one inch or two centimetres margin all the way around your text.  This is to allow annotation to be written onto a printed copy.

Indent each new paragraph by about 1/2 inch or 1 centimetre, except for the first line of the story or the first line of a new scene.  Please use the indent function of your programme, not multiple spaces or tabs.

Don’t insert extra lines between your paragraphs. A blank line indicates a new scene.

Put the word ‘End’ after the end of your text, centred, on its own line.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 26 May 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 19 May 2017, 12:27 pm
Fri 12 May 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 05 May 2017, 14:32 pm
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 17:33 pm
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 18:29 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:20 pm
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 15:53 pm
Fri 24 Feb 2017, 16:57 pm
Fri 17 Feb 2017, 11:28 am
Fri 10 Feb 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 03 Feb 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 27 Jan 2017, 16:06 pm
Fri 20 Jan 2017, 14:33 pm
Fri 13 Jan 2017, 16:15 pm
Fri 09 Dec 2016, 15:06 pm
Fri 02 Dec 2016, 15:54 pm
Fri 18 Nov 2016, 14:44 pm
Fri 11 Nov 2016, 15:32 pm
Fri 28 Oct 2016, 16:12 pm
Fri 07 Oct 2016, 16:13 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Night School
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 25 Sep - Thursday 04 Oct :::
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
    Gotti
    The Nun
  • Previous
    Smallfoot
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Tuesday 25 Sep - Thursday 04 Oct :::
    Smallfoot
    Night School
    Johnny English Strikes Again
    The Nun
  • Previous
    Johnny English Strikes Again
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 25 Sep - Thursday 04 Oct :::
    Johnny English Strikes Again
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The Predator
    The Nun
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
BASOP!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort