The Monitor :: Celebrate Our Heroes In Life As In Death
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 20 September 2018, 12:14 pm.
Banners
Celebrate Our Heroes In Life As In Death

Over the last few days, Botswana has been plunged into mourning following the loss of young and influential lives.
By Monitor Editor Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Celebrate Our Heroes In Life As In Death








Last week Saturday, we lost rapper, radio and television personality, Mpho Vincent Tiro, popularly known as Steez, to a freak road accident.

On Friday, the nation learnt with shock after football was robbed of a rare gem in rising Township Rollers attacking midfielder, Goafone Tiro, who collapsed during the team’s training. Tiro emerged from far-flung Gulubane to rise and play for one of the country’s biggest clubs.

While the nation was still nursing the fresh wounds, death struck another cruel blow, with news filtering from South Africa that professional boxer, Herbert Nkabiti had passed on after his bout at Carnival City.

A passionate boxer, Nkabiti had travelled to the neighbouring country for a welterweight contest. The trio played important role in entertaining the nation and proved one can be famous and still remain humble and focused. It is therefore only right that we give them due respect and celebrate their contribution in the music and sport industries.

Typical of us Batswana, the death of these heroes as many others before them, has us singing them praises. Why we cannot recognise and tell people

Banners

of their sterling work when they are alive is puzzling. Recognitionnot just in work but also to invest in those who raise our flag.

We can’t wait for someone to die and for his music or play it on radio. We need to invest in buying CDs, going to shows and playing and requesting the music we love from our radio stations. We need to sponsor sports stars and pay them as brand ambassadors.

Let us celebrate our players by going to the matches in large numbers, buy merchandise branded in their names instead of buying the same after they leave us.

We should honour those who worked hard to grow our sports. People like Nkabiti joined boxing when it was still very difficult and pushed past being an amateur to be a professional boxer. His achievements surely inspired many to follow his path and we see boxing growing. Such icons should be honoured and their track record documented to inspire others.

Today, we posthumously celebrate their contribution and we urge the nation to pay fitting tribute to our heroes.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Mon 27 Mar 2017, 11:30 am
Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:43 am
Mon 13 Mar 2017, 11:37 am
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am
Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:10 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 11:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort