Mmegi Blogs :: That attack on Donald Molosi
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
That attack on Donald Molosi

So actor and writer Donald Molosi wrote an essay on his Facebook page a couple months ago called Dear Upright African which he later performed at the TEDx talks at the end of March at Maitisong.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: That attack on Donald Molosi








It’s about the inexplicably intransigent position of so many school syllabi in this country and around the continent where European history and European-ness in general is seen as the only history to teach. He talks about private English medium schools in Botswana where students in French class are taught about white French celebrities from the past while black French celebrities are forgotten. He is talking, in essence, about the decolonising of the curriculum. It’s not new and it’s not normally that controversial for right-minded people, if anything it’s seen as long overdue. But for one teacher at Maru-a-Pula (MAP) (where Donald Molosi apparently attended) it made her head explode, and it exploded all over social media causing much outrage.

Julia Saplontai attacked Molosi on Facebook. She said “his brain was very small”, that he was a “mean, low class, ungrateful piece of crap”, described his essay as a “trash article” and that she would not accept his “denigrating remarks about the school”. Apparently the administration at MAP told her she must keep quiet now and she decided to listen because she “grew up to be a person who respects hierarchy and who would never disrespect her superiors”. Saplontai has apparently been the head of modern languages at MAP for a long time and says that she built the French Department over 31 years. 

At one point in her unrestrained rant, she mentions freedom of speech stating that the Constitution of Botswana enshrines it in our law. Yes, Ms Saplontai, I (and I’m sure Donald would agree with me) am a firm proponent of the right, the unalienable right in a working democracy, to the freedom to speak. You spoke. But what did you actually say?

Instead of engaging with the essay, as a reasonable person would, you attacked the writer personally. There lies your flaw. Few can support you in that. You acted the name-calling, playground bully and such people should be dismissed for the noisemakers that they are. The fact that you are a teacher, a role model for students, is unfortunate. The fact that you are the head of

Banners

modern languages, a place where I assume literature in all of its wide spectrum is taught, I find, frankly, sad. How can you engage with a piece of writing, given your background, in the manner in which you did?

In Dear Upright African Donald Molosi is asking for the history of Botswana to be taught, the true history, not some silly David Livingstone lies. Where is King Sechele? Why do we not teach about his power and amazing leadership through nearly insurmountable odds? Recently I visited the ruins at Mosu, ruins which are part of the great 14th century Karanga Empire that built Great Zimbabwe? Where are the history books about this? Why are they not in our schools? This is what Molosi is asking. It was a not-so-subtle tool of colonialism, still obviously active in our schools, to erase the history of the subjugated people. “No greatness can be found there,” they said, and so the inferior position was forced on black and brown people of this continent and still it continues. It’s false, wrong and it needs to be corrected. This is what Molosi said in his essay.

So are we to assume, since Saplontai was so furious about this, that she thinks he’s wrong to say that? That she thinks continuing the legacy of colonialism using our curriculum as a tool to enforce it is good? Does she not see what the effects of this are? Does she not think after 50-years of independence it’s time to decolonise our syllabi, our textbooks, and our minds? Is it not time to truly learn and teach the history of this country, more than the three kings going to UK with a begging bowl?

I have recently completed my third historical novel and one thing I’ve learned over and over again during my research (which I have become quite addicted to) is that amazing history is lying, waiting to be uncovered and brought into the bright light. When will we decide it’s time to tell the truth about that proud, heroic history and to teach it to our children?

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 17:33 pm
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 18:29 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:20 pm
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 15:53 pm
Fri 24 Feb 2017, 16:57 pm
Fri 17 Feb 2017, 11:28 am
Fri 10 Feb 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 03 Feb 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 27 Jan 2017, 16:06 pm
Fri 20 Jan 2017, 14:33 pm
Fri 13 Jan 2017, 16:15 pm
Fri 09 Dec 2016, 15:06 pm
Fri 02 Dec 2016, 15:54 pm
Fri 18 Nov 2016, 14:44 pm
Fri 11 Nov 2016, 15:32 pm
Fri 28 Oct 2016, 16:12 pm
Fri 07 Oct 2016, 16:13 pm
Wed 28 Sep 2016, 15:52 pm
Fri 23 Sep 2016, 17:09 pm
Fri 16 Sep 2016, 16:38 pm
Fri 09 Sep 2016, 15:23 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 22 Sep - Saturday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 22 Sep - Saturday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort