The Monitor :: Women Empowerment Should Not Just Be About Numbers
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 18 September 2018, 13:48 pm.
Banners
Women Empowerment Should Not Just Be About Numbers

Recently in Parliament the Minister of Nationality, Immigration and Gender Affairs, Edwin Batshu revealed that over 100,000 women had approached his Ministry’s gender financing department for entrepreneurship development and funding.
By Monitor Editor Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Women Empowerment Should Not Just Be About Numbers








The figure mentioned by the minister is no doubt big and if the funding and the success of the scheme is as big as the figure, we would be saying well done.

However, they say the devil is in the details and that is exactly what comes out here. Instead of over 100,000 economically empowered, prosperous women employing hundreds of thousands of fellow Batswana, the truth is we in fact have over 100,000 women knocking on the Batshu’s doors looking for empowerment, and finding none.

What comes out is the story of over 100,000 women walking the streets, in need of help, and indicating to Batshu that they need economic empowerment, which is not forthcoming.

It is no wonder that the minister only goes as far as mentioning the figure without  going further to say how many of those enterprising women are thriving, winning multi-million government tenders or creating successful citizen employment.

The fact is there are almost none. According to the minister, all the 107,871 were

Banners

taken through orientation and given guidance on how to apply, out of which 4,478 submitted proposals for funding. Of the slightly over 4,000 women who applied for funding, just 566 of them have been approved for funding at the tune of P106,611,567.92 creating employment for 1,416 beneficiaries according to the minister.

The more Batshu elaborates the lower this figure drops, eventually down to 566 women who were actually funded. We may ask, what happened to the more than 100,000 women who showed interest in accessing funding, why they didn’t put in proposals for funding. Is it because they  gave up on ever finding assistance?

The fact that only some 566 women were funded out of the over 106,000, can only suggest many women remain in need of help, remain in need, remain in poverty, and a lot still needs to be done to reach out to this large population that can still be tapped into for economic growth and empowerment of all.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Mon 27 Mar 2017, 11:30 am
Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:43 am
Mon 13 Mar 2017, 11:37 am
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am
Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:10 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 11:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Botswana
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort