The Monitor :: Potholes Are Costly To Motorists
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
Potholes Are Costly To Motorists

The recent good rains that left the Gaborone Dam full will remain in our memories for decades to come. The President has even declared a National Thanksgiving Day to be celebrated annually in recognition of the rains that we have long waited for.
By Monitor Editor Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Potholes Are Costly To Motorists








However, the rains have left many broken hearts in terms of the inconvenience caused due to the damage caused to property. The National Disaster Management Office (NDMO) has announced the disturbing figures of families affected by the floods, and those who have had to be evacuated from their homes.

However, what is disturbing is the apparent poor preparedness from the authorities to deal with the damage caused to roads. Whilst part of the A1 highway has been closed for two weeks now, it is regrettable that there has not been any assurance from the authorities on when the situation will be corrected.

This is a road that is critical in supply of many goods from neighbouring South Africa, and is used by thousands, perhaps tens of thousands of motorists everyday who travel between the two towns of Lobatse and Gaborone. Lobatse, home to the country’s second busiest High Court, is the heartbeat of the country’s Administration of Justice.

It is inconceivable to think that motorists are now forced to travel over 150 kilometres to reach Gaborone from Lobatse, the towns which are just 60km apart. Secondly, the rains have left ‘ponds’ of potholes on the

Banners

roads but there seems to be no urgency from either the Roads Department to fill them up to curb road accidents, neither are there any attempts to caution motorists where the potholes are.

These are a serious threat to the motorists’ lives.  The aforementioned are a clear indication of lack of preparedness and full appreciation of what disasters entail. Two weeks after Cyclone Dineo has passed, we should not be subjected to what we are currently going through.

We are a dry country that does not have the luxury of cursing rain, and looking at the slow pace at which we do things, we are left with many questions on whether we can survive a prolonged rainy season of the same magnitude as the current rainy season. It is clear that any form of rain has potential to bring our country to a standstill for two weeks or more.

We cannot allow a weak Cyclone Dineo to leave such a legacy of humiliation when we have resources and brains to address its aftermath as a matter of urgency. Communication is also critical during times of disaster and NDMO has not satisfied that requirement.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am
Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:10 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 11:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 19 Sep 2016, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Sep 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 05 Sep 2016, 11:16 am
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 23 Sep - Sunday 23 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Sunday 23 Sep - Sunday 23 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort