Last Updated
Friday 24 October 2014, 13:00 pm.
A stand-by force in Africa is a top priority

Last week, a tragic event occurred in Namibia where members of the Botswana Defence Force (BDF) Special Force had a joint training with their colleagues from the region. A boat capsized claiming the lives of a couple of soldiers from other southern African countries.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 11 Oct 2013, 14:19 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: A stand-by force in Africa is a top priority








In the same week, American special forces were dispatched by President Barack Obama to a Somali beach with one mission in mind - to capture another US-suspected terrorist Abdulkadir Mohamed Abdulkadir. That operation was not successful. Three weeks ago, Al-Shabab terrorists ook over a shopping centre in Nairobi, Kenya and killed dozens of people. The list of deceased included people from around the world and from this region. At the point when this terrorist attack took place we, in these pages, urged African leaders to rise to the challenge of instability in the continent.

The accident that took place in Namibia is a very tragic event. However it is worth looking at the importance of what the soldiers were engaged in to understand why such programmes need to be sustained. Africa is faced with a myriad challenges one of which is instability.

The threat of wars between nations or even between groups in one nation has largely subsided and the dividend of peace is starting to show results. We know that Africa has experienced unprecedented economic growth and the development of a middle class. However all these gains will not be sustainable unless various threats across the continent can be dealt with in a sustainable manner. The apparatus of achieving peace need to be given first priority.

However, as the arguments between Libya and the US over another recent special forces mission shows, peace in Africa cannot be left to the needs and strategic interests of the West.

The West can and must be a partner when the need arises. However leaving conflicts to deteriorate often attracts the misguided Western intervention which often leads to further collapse of long term structures upon which peace can be built.

Therefore, African countries need to commit to the development of a sustainable stand-by force with full capabilities to attend to the security threats in the continent. African leaders who think that dumping the International Criminal Court (ICC) without a legitimate replacement is a proper step need to rethink their position. Until the ordinary citizen has access to justice, peace will remain elusive in the continent.

 Therefore, the thinking should be that much as African countries have committed their soldiers to a standby force, they should show a similar commitment to a Pan-African judicial system to deal with abuse of human rights in the continent. The judicial instrument will be handy where the national judicial processes have failed.

Today's thought

"Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment". - Jim Rohn



Editorial
Wed 08 Oct 2014, 17:26 pm
Wed 08 Oct 2014, 13:14 pm
Fri 03 Oct 2014, 12:10 pm
Thu 02 Oct 2014, 09:00 am
Thu 25 Sep 2014, 17:20 pm
Wed 24 Sep 2014, 14:45 pm
Tue 23 Sep 2014, 15:39 pm
Fri 26 Sep 2014, 14:37 pm
Thu 18 Sep 2014, 12:10 pm
Wed 17 Sep 2014, 12:35 pm
Tue 16 Sep 2014, 15:23 pm
Fri 12 Sep 2014, 14:49 pm
Thu 11 Sep 2014, 11:46 am
Wed 10 Sep 2014, 12:37 pm
Tue 09 Sep 2014, 10:46 am
Thu 04 Sep 2014, 15:20 pm
Wed 03 Sep 2014, 15:40 pm
Fri 29 Aug 2014, 14:44 pm
Thu 28 Aug 2014, 06:00 am
Wed 27 Aug 2014, 14:44 pm
Tue 26 Aug 2014, 13:07 pm
Fri 22 Aug 2014, 11:39 am
Thu 21 Aug 2014, 11:38 am
Wed 20 Aug 2014, 11:08 am
Tue 19 Aug 2014, 14:13 pm
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Thursday, 23 Oct 2014
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.1408
1 GBP = Pula   14.6843
1 EUR = Pula   11.5607
1 YEN = Pula   0.0853
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8306
1 Pula = USD   0.1094
1 Pula = GBP   0.0681
1 Pula = EUR   0.0865
1 Pula = YEN   11.73
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2039
Banner Image
Stock Exchange
STOCK EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 22 Oct 2014
DOMESTIC STOCKS
ABCH
716
BARCLAYS
375
BIHL
1137
CHOBE
420
CHOPPIES
415
CRESTA
89
ENGEN
1000
FNBB
360
FSG
235
FURNMART
230
G4S
375
LETLOLE
215
LETSHEGO
275
NAP
217
OLYMPIA
20
PRIMETIME
248
RDCP
203
SECHABA
2800
SEFALANA
910
STANCHART
1250
TURNSTAR
200
WIL
300
IMARA
210
  • Previous
    Snowpiercer Poster
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 24 Oct - Thursday 30 Oct :::
    Snowpiercer
    Brick Mansions
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
    This Is Where I Leave You
    The Equalizer
  • Previous
    Brick Mansions Poster
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 24 Oct - Thursday 30 Oct :::
    Brick Mansions
    Snowpiercer
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
    This Is Where I Leave You
  • Previous
    Brick Mansions Poster
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 24 Oct - Thursday 30 Oct :::
    Brick Mansions
    Snowpiercer
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
    This Is Where I Leave You
    Dracula Untold
    The Equalizer