Mmegi Blogs :: A pioneering dentist
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 14 December 2017, 18:15 pm.
Banners
A pioneering dentist

As a heritage and record, this photo is of more than a little interest. Dr Barry Loughner was one of the first dentists to come to this country. Sent here by Church World Service, New York, Barry arrived perhaps a few weeks after the first ever government dentist, Mike Condom who worked from Princess Marina. Barry worked from the office acquired for him in Hospital Way, Gaborone.
By Sandy Grant Wed 15 Feb 2017, 17:11 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: A pioneering dentist








As was to be expected, both dentists were overwhelmed but Barry still found time to do a quick survey of the dental needs and problems of children in and around Gaborone.  I remember, as clear as if it was yesterday, his report to a Conference in 1971 about his findings.  Slowly and with great deliberation, he said that what he had found was a great many children with periodontal disease or tooth decay.  Why, he rhetorically asked? Because of sugar! That was 46 years ago so it is not very difficult to imagine how much worse the situation must be today. Yet this is a problem which is never brought to the fore and rarely if ever mentioned.  Perhaps Loughner’s small survey of primary schools was the first and last to be undertaken? But as another element of heritage I need to skip to the Gaborone Club which, only reluctantly, had opened its doors to those of all skin colour.  I had been told before he arrived that Barry sported a ponytail which, it was wondered, might prove of concern to a very conservative Gaborone. Having met him off his plane, and got him settled down, I was then at a loss to know what to do next.

 Perhaps foolishly, I took him to the Gaborone Club which I visited about once every four years.  The reaction there was

Banners

immediate. The Police Inspector behind the bar – I omit his name in case his widow is still in town – ex Jerusalem, ex Cyprus, ex Malaya, ex Kenya, places which had not always shown the British at their best, reluctantly gave Barry his soft drink and myself a beer.

After that, nothing would stop him as he ranted on and on about Barry who he described as a f..ing this and a f..ing that. Barry merely smiled, enjoyed his soft drink and allowed this awful man to continue with his tirade.

After we left the Club, I gathered from him that he was both a black belt judo and specifically a children’s dentist. A lovely, gentle man who, I later learnt died in the US from an infection caught from a patient.  It was his extraordinary patience which had saved that horrible, arsehole of a cop from being picked up and thrown across his own bar. But whilst this might have been what an evil minded cop might do, had he the skills, that was not what would even have entered the mind of someone who cared for children and their health.

From so long ago, I salute Dr Barry Loughner, a pioneer here who brought with him standards and values which made more possible a clean break from some of the awfulness of the past.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Our Heritage
Wed 15 Feb 2017, 17:11 pm
Wed 08 Feb 2017, 17:09 pm
Wed 01 Feb 2017, 18:15 pm
Wed 25 Jan 2017, 17:10 pm
Wed 18 Jan 2017, 16:28 pm
Wed 11 Jan 2017, 16:15 pm
Wed 21 Dec 2016, 22:59 pm
Wed 14 Dec 2016, 14:09 pm
Wed 07 Dec 2016, 16:54 pm
Wed 30 Nov 2016, 16:32 pm
Wed 23 Nov 2016, 16:58 pm
Wed 16 Nov 2016, 18:55 pm
Wed 02 Nov 2016, 16:09 pm
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 18:03 pm
Wed 19 Oct 2016, 18:22 pm
Wed 12 Oct 2016, 18:22 pm
Wed 05 Oct 2016, 16:32 pm
Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:47 pm
Wed 14 Sep 2016, 16:34 pm
Wed 07 Sep 2016, 15:42 pm
Wed 31 Aug 2016, 15:51 pm
Wed 24 Aug 2016, 15:07 pm
Wed 17 Aug 2016, 16:56 pm
Wed 10 Aug 2016, 15:50 pm
Wed 27 Jul 2016, 14:03 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Thursday, 14 Dec 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.2775
1 GBP = Pula   13.7931
1 EUR = Pula   12.1507
1 YEN = Pula   0.0912
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7624
1 Pula = USD   0.0973
1 Pula = GBP   0.0725
1 Pula = EUR   0.0823
1 Pula = YEN   10.96
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3116
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Dec - Friday 15 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Dec - Friday 15 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Dec - Friday 15 Dec :::
Selefu
And that comrades is the BMD strategy. Any questions Media! Where the hell are they
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort