The Monitor :: Six journalists arrested over 'false news' in Ivory Coast
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 22 June 2018, 18:00 pm.
Banners
Six journalists arrested over 'false news' in Ivory Coast

Six journalists, including three media owners, have been arrested in the Ivory Coast for "spreading false information" about a mutiny by security forces, their newspapers and the public prosecutor said.
By Staff Writer Mon 13 Feb 2017, 15:57 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Six journalists arrested over 'false news' in Ivory Coast








The move came after elite forces became the latest troops to protest over pay in recent weeks in the West African nation, firing into the air in the army barracks town of Adiake.

"Regarding recent action taken by the military... we have come to believe that certain media organisations are spreading false information in a bid to encourage soldiers to revolt," said a statement from the public prosecutor broadcast on national television on Sunday.

The editor and owner of the independent dailies L'Inter and SoirInfo were arrested and held in a police camp in the capital Abidjan, along with the editors and owners of the opposition newspapers Le Temps and Notre Voie.

The journalists will be questioned to "find out where responsibility lies" for the

Banners

alleged false information, the prosecutor said.

They were arrested on suspicion of breaking the law which forbids inciting rebellion among the military, attacking state authority and publishing false information relating to defense and state security, the statement added.

The elite forces mutinied in Adiake, some 90km from Abidjan, between Tuesday and Thursday, but later "apologised to the authorities" according to a high-level military source.

Troops first launched a mutiny over pay on January 5.

Those protests subsided when the government reached a deal with 8,500 mutineers, agreeing to give them 12 million CFA francs ($19,000) each.

However more soldiers have since taken to the streets demanding similar bonuses.

Last year Ivory Coast approved an ambitious military budget to modernise the army and buy new equipment.

Aljazeera.com

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 15:57 pm
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 16:49 pm
Tue 17 Jan 2017, 07:26 am
Tue 20 Dec 2016, 14:04 pm
Tue 22 Nov 2016, 13:32 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 16:28 pm
Tue 04 Oct 2016, 09:24 am
Tue 13 Sep 2016, 17:04 pm
Tue 06 Sep 2016, 19:24 pm
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 16:58 pm
Tue 16 Aug 2016, 09:57 am
Tue 09 Aug 2016, 12:37 pm
Tue 05 Jul 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 21 Jun 2016, 08:27 am
Wed 04 May 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 03 May 2016, 10:09 am
Tue 12 Apr 2016, 09:17 am
Tue 05 Apr 2016, 09:37 am
Tue 22 Mar 2016, 10:20 am
Tue 01 Mar 2016, 11:15 am
Tue 23 Feb 2016, 09:07 am
Tue 16 Feb 2016, 10:43 am
Tue 09 Feb 2016, 09:33 am
Tue 19 Jan 2016, 12:00 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Ocean
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 22 Jun - Thursday 28 Jun :::
    Ocean's Eight
    Isle of Dogs
    Incredibles 2
    Hereditary
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
  • Previous
    Incredibles 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 22 Jun - Thursday 28 Jun :::
    Incredibles 2
    Ocean's Eight
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
    Breaking In
  • Previous
    Isle of Dogs
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 22 Jun - Thursday 28 Jun :::
    Isle of Dogs
    Ocean's Eight
    Hereditary
    Incredibles 2
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
    Breaking In
Selefu
DCEC
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort