The Monitor :: Rasesa By-Election: Voters Need More Than Just A United Opposition
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 28 April 2017, 14:58 pm.
Banners
Rasesa By-Election: Voters Need More Than Just A United Opposition

Over the weekend a united opposition that had recently announced cooperation for the 2019 General Election, came out licking their wounds after it was thrashed by the ruling Party for the Rasesa Council ward.
By Monitor Editor Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Rasesa By-Election: Voters Need More Than Just A United Opposition








Perhaps this is good as a reminder to all singers of opposition cooperation, that the cooperation or unity alone cannot guarantee Government for the united opposition come 2019. They will need more than just the mere talk of opposition unity.

 The quality of candidates is one factor that will have to be considered seriously when pitting strength against the might of the incumbent.

Tangible solutions to the everyday problems faced by Batswana will also have to be delivered in a clear and convincing fashion to the voter and not just bombastic rhetoric that already assumes victory is certain.

The voter cannot be taken for a ride, for the voter sees through all the fault lines, able to read the weaknesses or strengths to his or her advantage.

There is no denying that on the eve of the Rasesa ward bye-election, the

Banners

united opposition faced a problem very much similar to the one Domkrag faced in Palapye a fortnight ago when they lost the Madiba ward by-election- the problem of internal bickering and sabotage by one’s own.

The Rasesa council ward by-election perhaps came too soon or coincided with the unfortunate atmosphere that is currently bedeviling the united opposition since the BCP was accommodated into the unity.

The instability in the UDC appears to be heading for a long bumpy ride as the protagonists involved in the plot are not mere lightweights, but highly influential characters whose behaviour can make or break the united opposition dream.

For the BDP forces however the performance at Rasesa has also taught them that if they engaged less in factional wars and focus on the bigger picture, even a united opposition can be survived.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 19 Sep 2016, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Sep 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 05 Sep 2016, 11:16 am
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 11:28 am
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 28 Apr 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.4275
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.3379
1 YEN = Pula   0.0938
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7827
1 Pula = USD   0.0959
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0882
1 Pula = YEN   10.66
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2776
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Going in Style
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 26 Apr - Thursday 04 May :::
    Going in Style
    The Fate of the Furious
    Beauty and the Beast
    The Boss Baby
  • Previous
    Sleepless
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 26 Apr - Thursday 04 May :::
    Sleepless
    Going in Style
    The Fate of the Furious
    The Boss Baby
  • Previous
    Going in Style
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 26 Apr - Thursday 04 May :::
    Going in Style
    Sleepless
    The Fate of the Furious
    Beauty and the Beast
    The Boss Baby
Selefu
Parliament
Banners
Banners