The Monitor :: Tanzania crackdown on 'gay activity'
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 21 March 2019, 17:07 pm.
Banners
Tanzania crackdown on 'gay activity'

Tanzania's deputy health minister Hamis Kingwangala has ordered three men who he accused of being gay to report to police for questioning - or risk arrest, reports the BBC's Sammy Awami from the main city Dar es Salaam.
By BBC.COM Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:41 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Tanzania crackdown on 'gay activity'








He said the three were "spreading" homosexual activity through social media, in violation of the law.

Gay sex is illegal in Tanzania and punishable by up to 30 years in prison.

Last year, Tanzania's health

Banners

ministry announced the suspension of community-based HIV/Aids prevention programmes for gay men.

The government also threatened to ban groups that "promote" the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 16:49 pm
Tue 17 Jan 2017, 07:26 am
Tue 20 Dec 2016, 14:04 pm
Tue 22 Nov 2016, 13:32 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 16:28 pm
Tue 04 Oct 2016, 09:24 am
Tue 13 Sep 2016, 17:04 pm
Tue 06 Sep 2016, 19:24 pm
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 16:58 pm
Tue 16 Aug 2016, 09:57 am
Tue 09 Aug 2016, 12:37 pm
Tue 05 Jul 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 21 Jun 2016, 08:27 am
Wed 04 May 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 03 May 2016, 10:09 am
Tue 12 Apr 2016, 09:17 am
Tue 05 Apr 2016, 09:37 am
Tue 22 Mar 2016, 10:20 am
Tue 01 Mar 2016, 11:15 am
Tue 23 Feb 2016, 09:07 am
Tue 16 Feb 2016, 10:43 am
Tue 09 Feb 2016, 09:33 am
Tue 19 Jan 2016, 12:00 pm
Tue 12 Jan 2016, 16:51 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Wonder Park
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Captain Marvel
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Captain Marvel
    Wonder Park
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Wonder Park
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
Selefu
BDP Disciplinary Committee
Banners
Banners