The Monitor :: Segolame Boy: A Huge Testimony For Constituency Tournaments
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 19 July 2019, 12:42 pm.
Banners
Segolame Boy: A Huge Testimony For Constituency Tournaments

Since he burst into the scene at Township Rollers, Segolame Boy has been year after year touted for export to the more professional South African league clubs, including Kaizer Chiefs. He has won many man- of- the- match awards in the premier league more than we can count.
By Monitor Editor Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Segolame Boy: A Huge Testimony For Constituency Tournaments








What is humbling about the Township Rollers and Zebras star is the fact that he is a direct by-product of the constituency tournament, where he was spotted while representing one of the Selebe-Phikwe sides by representatives of a Serowe club that later sold him to Rollers.

Just recently, athletics body announced their desire to have athletics included in these mass grassroots games, to enable their talent scouts and coaches to tap talent and polish it. Athletics, it should be noted, is probably the easiest sport in the world that enables anyone from even the humblest of backgrounds to break into the professional ranks and wave bye-bye to poverty. We have living examples to prove that fact with the likes of Botswana’s own California Molefe, Kabelo Kgosiemang, Gabriel Garenamotse, Glody Dube, Amantle Montsho, Nijel Amos, and lately Karabo Sibanda and his brigade.

The beauty of it is that these athletes do not have to wait for local competitions or awards to earn a living, but they follow the international

Banners

calendar and earn their unbelievable US dollars. It has been found that unlike other sports that require a lot of investments in infrastructure, and coaching, with athletics, talented individuals can do with minimal resources and still be able to compete with the best in the world.

In this light, athletics should be seen as a highly practical tool and path toward youth prosperity and empowerment, for both boys and girls, that is without prejudicing the chances of the other gender.

It is in this light that the athletics body recently lobbied government and the concerned national sports authorities for inclusion in the constituency tournaments. While there is no doubt that the constituency tournaments have continued to benefit premier sporting codes such as football, as in the case of Boy and Township Rollers and the Zebras, a deliberate strategy to upgrade our talented young athletes from poverty to international stardom can be forged through this initiative, without necessarily losing focus on the original spirit of this initiative.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 19 Sep 2016, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Sep 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 05 Sep 2016, 11:16 am
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 11:28 am
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Lion King
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 17 Jul - Thursday 25 Jul :::
    The Lion King
    Spider-Man: Far from Home
    Anna
    Stuber
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Child's Play
    The Lion King
    Spider-Man: Far from Home
    Anna
  • Previous
    Child
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 17 Jul - Thursday 25 Jul :::
    Child's Play
    The Lion King
    Spider-Man: Far from Home
    Avengers: Endgame
Selefu
Whenever you are ready Lieutenant General!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners