The Monitor :: Amendment To Attract Foreign Investment Welcome
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 16 October 2018, 17:21 pm.
Banners
Amendment To Attract Foreign Investment Welcome

Government has moved to amend Immigration Laws to enable the Minister responsible to accord foreign investors and their families permanent residence.
By Monitor Editor Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Amendment To Attract Foreign Investment Welcome








This amendment, to be tabled in the next sitting of Parliament, is geared toward attracting foreign direct investment into Botswana. According to the amendment gazetted on December 16 edition of the Government Gazette, permanent residences will be issued by the Minister to non-citizens and their families who have been operating in Botswana for  at least five years.

The amendment also says the minister will issue permanent residentce permits if he is convinced that the investor will set up investment or expand the investment in the country.

While this amendment is long overdue and greatly welcomed in the face of high unemployment that would no doubt do with foreign investment opportunities, there is however a worry that the amendment has in it seeds of xenophobic tendencies as it seems to extend the opportunities of permanent residence permits only to the children of the investors that are only minors, further raising fears that investors who might want to relocate to Botswana with their families, minor or not minors, might feel hampered  to do so by such a rigid law.

Those who takes a dim view of

Banners

this amendment argue that 16-20-year-olds, for instance, who are not considered minors may still be dependent on their parents for their education and upkeep, yet this amendment seems to be locking them out for consideration for the permanent residence permits as they lie outside the minors’ category.

The new amendment comes at a time when Botswana today has thousands of no-citizens who had been operating in Botswana for decades, even raising children here who are later segregated against by local laws when it comes to living and working in the country, as they are often viewed as grabbing the jobs meant for locals, when in fact the only country those, ‘foreigners’ have come to know is Botswana, and not their parents’ origin’s country.

Botswana would do well to look at its immigration laws wholesomely and address all the offending pieces to make this country a more welcoming destination for investors and their families as a place they can not only be happy to invest in, but to live in and work in, with equal opportunities and no fear of segregation.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 19 Sep 2016, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Sep 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 05 Sep 2016, 11:16 am
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 11:28 am
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Mon 11 Jul 2016, 12:59 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Baby Mamas
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 10 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Baby Mamas
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    Venom
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Venom
    Baby Mamas
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
  • Previous
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    The Nun
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
Selefu
BBC
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort