Mmegi Blogs :: The new bridge at Ramotswa
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 24 March 2017, 15:39 pm.
Banners
The new bridge at Ramotswa

It cost a load, but it will presumably do the job it is required to do - so where’s the problem? Especially as this bridge, as with so many others in this country, can only be seen by those who go down to the river bed or flood plain to have a look.
By Sandy Grant Wed 21 Dec 2016, 22:59 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: The new bridge at Ramotswa








And how many of us do that? In other words, it really doesn’t matter what a bridge looks like so long as it does its job. Can any one argue with that? My problem is that I like bridges, that is bridges which make you feel proud, which brighten your day and look good whilst doing their required  job.

I had great hopes that the new Odi bridge would be elegant and prize winning. All I got was the replacement of one set of culverts by another. Disappointed there, I had great hopes that the new border bridge at Ramotswa would prove to be a real beauty.

Indeed a couple of visits to have a look during its construction were fairly promising.  So this past weekend we went to check on the final product. Oh dear, what a huge disappointment it proved to be.

Okay, it will undoubtedly do the job. But for anyone who wants to see a bridge with pleasing lines and a degree of elegance, this one is well worth a miss. It is utilitarian, solid, chunky, bland, virtually characterless. But because it cost an absolute fortune, some of us will wonder why the government was unable to require the contracting company to come up with a design that was pleasing to the eye?

Why would it cost more to design an elegant bridge than an ugly one? 

Banners

All forms of construction can be well designed. I have long admired the clean lines of the Gaborone Dam wall, for instance and as far as bridges are concerned, the Thune River bridge is admirable, just the job.

But by and large, however, we seem to have either lost the knack or been disinterested. It was noticeable, for instance, that despite the extended run up to the anniversary, there was no attempt to survey the contribution that architecture and civil engineering had made in the 50 year period.

Was their job merely to add one new ugly building or structure to those that already existed? My personal award for the ugliest possible building must go to the passenger station which replaced the earlier, period version.

But then anyone interested in architectural ugliness has only to have a peep at any of the new shopping malls to know that they need look no further. 

We may well wonder how it has happened that the very handsome traditional towns and traditional homes of the past should have been replaced by so much that is third rate?  Yes, it is indeed a matter of taste.  But it may also be worth noting that what has occurred in these 50 years is the replacement of the indigenous models by those imported from elsewhere. It has been quite a price to have paid.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Our Heritage
Wed 21 Dec 2016, 22:59 pm
Wed 14 Dec 2016, 14:09 pm
Wed 07 Dec 2016, 16:54 pm
Wed 30 Nov 2016, 16:32 pm
Wed 23 Nov 2016, 16:58 pm
Wed 16 Nov 2016, 18:55 pm
Wed 02 Nov 2016, 16:09 pm
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 18:03 pm
Wed 19 Oct 2016, 18:22 pm
Wed 12 Oct 2016, 18:22 pm
Wed 05 Oct 2016, 16:32 pm
Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:47 pm
Wed 14 Sep 2016, 16:34 pm
Wed 07 Sep 2016, 15:42 pm
Wed 31 Aug 2016, 15:51 pm
Wed 24 Aug 2016, 15:07 pm
Wed 17 Aug 2016, 16:56 pm
Wed 10 Aug 2016, 15:50 pm
Wed 27 Jul 2016, 14:03 pm
Wed 13 Jul 2016, 15:56 pm
Wed 29 Jun 2016, 14:17 pm
Wed 22 Jun 2016, 15:29 pm
Wed 15 Jun 2016, 17:01 pm
Wed 08 Jun 2016, 16:26 pm
Wed 01 Jun 2016, 15:01 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 24 Mar 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.1523
1 GBP = Pula   12.6743
1 EUR = Pula   10.9409
1 YEN = Pula   0.0912
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8146
1 Pula = USD   0.0985
1 Pula = GBP   0.0789
1 Pula = EUR   0.0914
1 Pula = YEN   10.97
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2276
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Power Rangers
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 24 Mar - Thursday 30 Mar :::
    Power Rangers
    CHIPS
    John Wick: Chapter 2
    Kong: Skull Island
    Rock Dog
  • Previous
    Power Rangers
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 24 Mar - Thursday 30 Mar :::
    Power Rangers
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 24 Mar - Friday 24 Mar :::
Selefu
Trump, Obama
Banners
Banners