The Monitor :: We Need Heat Wave Monitoring
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 14 December 2018, 09:57 am.
Banners
We Need Heat Wave Monitoring

Botswana is one of the most progressive countries in the region when it comes to climate monitoring. It houses infrastructure that also informs the rest of the region on future climatic patterns.
By Monitor Editor Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: We Need Heat Wave Monitoring








We also note that from time to time warnings are issued to the public to be careful of impending heat waves.

While such periodic warnings to the public are most welcome and are encouraged, we

however note that we don’t seem to have a monitoring mechanism to inform ourselves about the effects of the heat-waves on the health of our population.

We need to be concerned about the effects of the heatwave on our people’s health in

the same zest that we attach to the effects of natural calamities like drought on our crops and livestock.

In fact we should develop a robust monitoring and evaluation system similar to the one we have adopted for crops and livestock to keep us informed about the effects of the heatwave on the nation’s population, from the elderly to the young ones.

There are fears that many Batswana are dying or having chronic ailments as a result

of the effects of the heatwave.

Being able to count cases of the effects of

Banners

the eat waves on our population could go

a long way in informing policy developers on what can be done to shield our various

populations from the effects of heat wave.

It is a sad case since in Botswana large areas can be exposed to over 40 degrees Celsius of heat from October-to March, that’s six months of straight unbearable heat.

We cannot afford to sweep this challenge under the carpet because it is about a nation’s health.

To be fair, Batswana across the country are on their own when it comes to this problem, but is there a reason why they should be on their own, when the economy needs the population to be in the best of shape physically, mentally, and emotionally, to be able to contribute fully to the development of this country!

We need to take stock of our development policies as a nation and interrogate them,

especially when they remain silent on such a vital health, social, and economic topic.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 19 Sep 2016, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Sep 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 05 Sep 2016, 11:16 am
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 11:28 am
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Mon 11 Jul 2016, 12:59 pm
Mon 04 Jul 2016, 15:21 pm
Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm
Mon 20 Jun 2016, 07:30 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Dec - Friday 14 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Dec - Friday 14 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 14 Dec - Friday 14 Dec :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners
Banners
resim yükle