The Monitor :: South Africa bars anti-gay US pastor Steven Anderson
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
South Africa bars anti-gay US pastor Steven Anderson

South Africa has barred controversial US pastor Steven Anderson from visiting the county because of his critical remarks about homosexuality.
By BBC.COM Tue 13 Sep 2016, 17:04 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: South Africa bars anti-gay US pastor Steven Anderson








The home affairs minister said he was refused a visa as the constitution prohibits hate speech.

Mr Anderson runs the Faithful Word Baptist Church, which says that homosexuality is an abomination punishable by the death penalty.

He said that religious freedom no longer existed in South Africa.

"I feel sorry for people who live in South Africa, but thank God we still have a wide open door in Botswana," Mr Anderson posted on his Facebook page after the decision to refuse him a visa.

South Africa has one of the most liberal constitutions in the world which protects gay rights.

The BBC's Milton Nkosi in Johannesburg says Mr Anderson was invited by a local church to visit this month.

Two petitions

Banners

with more than 60,000 signatures, organised by gay and human rights activists in South Africa, had called for the trip to be stopped.

"I have identified Steven Anderson as an undesirable person to travel to South Africa," Home Affairs Minister Malusi Gigaba said.

Mr Anderson's church is based in the US state of Arizona and describes itself as an "old-fashioned, independent, fundamental, King James Bible only, soul-winning Baptist church".

In a video posted on YouTube before South Africa's decision was made, he said that the trip was not going to be about homosexuality, but he stood by his views against homosexuality, which he said were endorsed by the Bible.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 13 Sep 2016, 17:04 pm
Tue 06 Sep 2016, 19:24 pm
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 16:58 pm
Tue 16 Aug 2016, 09:57 am
Tue 09 Aug 2016, 12:37 pm
Tue 05 Jul 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 21 Jun 2016, 08:27 am
Wed 04 May 2016, 10:48 am
Tue 03 May 2016, 10:09 am
Tue 12 Apr 2016, 09:17 am
Tue 05 Apr 2016, 09:37 am
Tue 22 Mar 2016, 10:20 am
Tue 01 Mar 2016, 11:15 am
Tue 23 Feb 2016, 09:07 am
Tue 16 Feb 2016, 10:43 am
Tue 09 Feb 2016, 09:33 am
Tue 19 Jan 2016, 12:00 pm
Tue 12 Jan 2016, 16:51 pm
Wed 16 Dec 2015, 12:49 pm
Mon 14 Dec 2015, 20:00 pm
Mon 07 Dec 2015, 13:05 pm
Tue 01 Dec 2015, 10:38 am
Mon 30 Nov 2015, 17:52 pm
Mon 23 Nov 2015, 16:17 pm
Tue 10 Nov 2015, 17:34 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 21 Sep - Friday 21 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 21 Sep - Friday 21 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort