The Monitor :: Fears of 2019 Rigging Need To Be Eliminateda
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Saturday 24 August 2019, 11:44 am.
Banners
Fears of 2019 Rigging Need To Be Eliminateda

Recently the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) pressed on with its otherwise progressive initiative to have their next General Elections process undertaken via electronic voting.
By Monitor Editor Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Fears of 2019 Rigging Need To Be Eliminateda








On paper this should have been an easily highly welcome development for the simple reason that electronic voting would hopefully reduce time taken to release the results.

The last General elections results announcement was the slowest process by far, as it took over three days, and over four days in some constituencies to announce the results, all thanks to the archaic method which has no doubt now been overtaken by events.

While Electronic Voting would naturally appeal to anyone who wants a speedy and reliable, and authentic process, such an alternative should give everyone concerned peace of mind that the new alternative would not be susceptible to manipulation by a sitting government especially, for purposes of retaining power.

Any alternative will have to be free from controversies lest it taint the image of our electoral process. In fact, we did not need the opposition to blow the trumpet on the vulnerability of the proposed electronic voting by our IEC.

All things

Banners

being equal, it should have been the IEC’s foremost concern that any electronic voting platform adopted doesn’t bring with it such controversies.

The opposition’s protest against this specific electronic voting machines adopted by our IEC looks more and more genuine by the day, in the process, exposing the very same IEC, as an entity that does not seem to care about its image in the eyes of the international community.

In the end the IEC’s alternative voting platform, has not only painted them in bad light, but as the controversy dragged on, the allegations of plans for rigging extended to other strategic agencies of government, further tainting their image as corrupt.

From the seat of SADC, and from one of the most stable democracies, in Africa and the world, surely we expect our IEC to be an active player in voter education, more especially in matters such as the choice of the appropriate electronic voting platform for Botswana.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 11:28 am
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Mon 11 Jul 2016, 12:59 pm
Mon 04 Jul 2016, 15:21 pm
Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm
Mon 20 Jun 2016, 07:30 am
Mon 13 Jun 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 06 Jun 2016, 12:40 pm
Mon 30 May 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 23 May 2016, 11:58 am
Mon 16 May 2016, 12:29 pm
Mon 09 May 2016, 15:46 pm
Tue 03 May 2016, 15:23 pm
Mon 25 Apr 2016, 11:04 am
Mon 18 Apr 2016, 11:29 am
Mon 11 Apr 2016, 11:19 am
Mon 04 Apr 2016, 14:41 pm
Mon 21 Mar 2016, 11:37 am
Mon 14 Mar 2016, 13:47 pm
Mon 07 Mar 2016, 15:09 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 26 Aug - Monday 26 Aug :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 26 Aug - Monday 26 Aug :::
Selefu
Of sheep and wolves
Banners

gramstalker

Banners