The Monitor :: Do Not Blame Unemployment On Expatriates
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 23 August 2019, 11:31 am.
Banners
Do Not Blame Unemployment On Expatriates

There appears to be a serious problem unravelling at Immigration and Labour offices, resulting in scores of non-citizens either being systematically denied residence and work permits or at the worst, being forced to go back to their countries of origins.
By Monitor Editor Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Do Not Blame Unemployment On Expatriates








Sadly some of these cases are happening to people who have lived all their lives here, from primary schools to Universities until they started to develop career paths in Botswana and began contributing to the economy in various positive ways.

A good number of these people today have no connections whatsoever with the so-called countries of origins where their parents migrated from many years ago to settle in Botswana. It is worrying that even after schooling here, working here for so long, these groups of people today find themselves still having to deal with work and residence permits renewal issues, and worst, deportations to their parents’ countries of origins, all in the name of creating jobs for Batswana.  We need to be very careful lest we send out wrong signals out there to possible foreign investors, that we are an unwelcoming lot, thankless and cruel, when dealing with non-citizens even those that had invested so much in our economy. In fact it is embarrassing that we do not

Banners

have a policy of automatic citizenship attainment or permanent residence attainment for those immigrants that have stayed in Botswana for at least 10  years. Today it has become common to see descendants of immigrants who have spent over 40 years in Botswana, still fighting for work permits renewal or being sent home, after more than 40 years in Botswana, a country they had come to call home.

As a country we need to be appreciative and rewarding towards these types of immigrants. In fact our immigration and labour policy should be biased toward retaining these invaluable resources. The truth is no man is an island, and we need these Botswana loving immigrants to contribute to job creations, skills developments, and generally to our human resource database. Tied to this problem, there also seems to be a new trend unfolding whereby foreign companies investing in Botswana are given a hard time when they wish to put their preferred choices, usually foreign nationals, in certain strategic positions.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Mon 11 Jul 2016, 12:59 pm
Mon 04 Jul 2016, 15:21 pm
Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm
Mon 20 Jun 2016, 07:30 am
Mon 13 Jun 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 06 Jun 2016, 12:40 pm
Mon 30 May 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 23 May 2016, 11:58 am
Mon 16 May 2016, 12:29 pm
Mon 09 May 2016, 15:46 pm
Tue 03 May 2016, 15:23 pm
Mon 25 Apr 2016, 11:04 am
Mon 18 Apr 2016, 11:29 am
Mon 11 Apr 2016, 11:19 am
Mon 04 Apr 2016, 14:41 pm
Mon 21 Mar 2016, 11:37 am
Mon 14 Mar 2016, 13:47 pm
Mon 07 Mar 2016, 15:09 pm
Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:36 pm
Mon 22 Feb 2016, 16:26 pm
Mon 15 Feb 2016, 12:33 pm
Mon 08 Feb 2016, 15:17 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 23 Aug - Friday 23 Aug :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 23 Aug - Friday 23 Aug :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners

gramstalker

Banners