The Monitor :: Bot50 Celebrations Expose Sorry State of Our Performing Industry
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 19 March 2019, 17:14 pm.
Banners
Bot50 Celebrations Expose Sorry State of Our Performing Industry

As Botswana celebrates Bot50 with the performing arts at the forefront of these activities, it was under normal circumstances supposed to be a time of merry for the local performing arts industry.
By Monitor Editor Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Bot50 Celebrations Expose Sorry State of Our Performing Industry








At no other time had there been so much commitment by government or private sector to deliberately channel the funds to the local performing arts industry in the various forms to perform in the various districts, special occasions, road shows, and the main event those climax will be at the national stadium.

However it has been weeping, complaints, as every artist cries for their share of the pie. If it is not an artist complaining, it is a promoter, a DJ, queuing at the Minister’s office to demand his or her share of Bot50.

In short, what has been a splendid effort to encourage and grow our performing arts seems to have arrived at a time when the industry is in such a lull, the pie seems to be too small for the hungry lot.

Perhaps everybody can learn from the Bot50

Banners

experience and realise that deliberate efforts like splashing P100 million into the performing arts industry to grow them should not just be viewed as special occasions, rather exercises like this should be a common cause, just as government deliberately stimulates certain industries every year through budget allocation.

Perhaps it is time development budget planners include the performing arts industry just as they consider industries such as the construction, textile, to name a few, during budget planning.

This should not be seen in anyway to belittle efforts of the Bot50 to empower the local performing arts industry.

Indeed the ongoing efforts as well as positive response to the endless queries are most welcome.

It has given the performing arts industry a rare opportunity to survive, and future similar endeavours would go a long way in creating a sustainable local performing arts industry.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm
Mon 20 Jun 2016, 07:30 am
Mon 13 Jun 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 06 Jun 2016, 12:40 pm
Mon 30 May 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 23 May 2016, 11:58 am
Mon 16 May 2016, 12:29 pm
Mon 09 May 2016, 15:46 pm
Tue 03 May 2016, 15:23 pm
Mon 25 Apr 2016, 11:04 am
Mon 18 Apr 2016, 11:29 am
Mon 11 Apr 2016, 11:19 am
Mon 04 Apr 2016, 14:41 pm
Mon 21 Mar 2016, 11:37 am
Mon 14 Mar 2016, 13:47 pm
Mon 07 Mar 2016, 15:09 pm
Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:36 pm
Mon 22 Feb 2016, 16:26 pm
Mon 15 Feb 2016, 12:33 pm
Mon 08 Feb 2016, 15:17 pm
Mon 01 Feb 2016, 12:54 pm
Mon 25 Jan 2016, 12:05 pm
Mon 18 Jan 2016, 14:51 pm
Mon 11 Jan 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 21 Dec 2015, 15:22 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Wonder Park
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Captain Marvel
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Captain Marvel
    Wonder Park
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Wonder Park
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
Selefu
Guma Moyo
Banners
Banners