The Monitor :: Zika virus 'scarier than thought' says US
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 24 November 2017, 17:23 pm.
Banners
Zika virus 'scarier than thought' says US

The Zika virus is "scarier" than first thought and its impact on the US could be greater than predicted, public health officials have admitted.
By BBC.COM Tue 12 Apr 2016, 09:17 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Zika virus 'scarier than thought' says US








A wider range of birth defects has been linked to the virus, said Dr Anne Schuchat of the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

And the mosquitoes that carry the virus could travel to more US states than previously thought, she said.

The current Zika outbreak began almost a year ago in Brazil.

It has been linked to thousands of birth defects in the Americas.

"Most of what we've learned is not reassuring," said Dr Schuchat at White House briefing on Monday.

"Everything we know about this virus seems to be scarier than we initially thought."

Earlier this year, US President Obama asked the US Congress for $1.8bn (£1.25bn) in emergency funding to combat the virus.

In the meantime it has been using money totalling $589m left over from the Ebola virus

Banners

fund.

That was a temporary stopgap and inadequate to get the job done, said Dr Anthony Fauci of the National Institutes of Health.

The US now needs more money to fight the mosquitoes and to fund better research into vaccines and treatments, he said.

"When the president asked for $1.9 billion, we needed $1.9 billion."

He said there had been recent discoveries about how destructive Zika appeared to be to foetal brains.

There were also reports of rare neurologic problems in adults, he said.

The CDC announced that Puerto Rico is to receive $3.9m in emergency Zika funding as the number of cases there doubles every week.

In February, the first US case of locally transmitted Zika was reported in Dallas, Texas - spread through sexual contact, not a mosquito bite.

Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 12 Apr 2016, 09:17 am
Tue 05 Apr 2016, 09:37 am
Tue 22 Mar 2016, 10:20 am
Tue 01 Mar 2016, 11:15 am
Tue 23 Feb 2016, 09:07 am
Tue 16 Feb 2016, 10:43 am
Tue 09 Feb 2016, 09:33 am
Tue 19 Jan 2016, 12:00 pm
Tue 12 Jan 2016, 16:51 pm
Wed 16 Dec 2015, 12:49 pm
Mon 14 Dec 2015, 20:00 pm
Mon 07 Dec 2015, 13:05 pm
Tue 01 Dec 2015, 10:38 am
Mon 30 Nov 2015, 17:52 pm
Mon 23 Nov 2015, 16:17 pm
Tue 10 Nov 2015, 17:34 pm
Mon 02 Nov 2015, 19:23 pm
Tue 27 Oct 2015, 18:24 pm
Mon 26 Oct 2015, 15:07 pm
Mon 19 Oct 2015, 17:45 pm
Tue 13 Oct 2015, 09:29 am
Mon 05 Oct 2015, 16:24 pm
Mon 28 Sep 2015, 17:07 pm
Tue 22 Sep 2015, 14:37 pm
Wed 19 Aug 2015, 12:08 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 24 Nov 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.4167
1 GBP = Pula   13.8504
1 EUR = Pula   12.3457
1 YEN = Pula   0.0935
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7492
1 Pula = USD   0.096
1 Pula = GBP   0.0722
1 Pula = EUR   0.081
1 Pula = YEN   10.7
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3348
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 25 Nov - Saturday 25 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 25 Nov - Saturday 25 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 25 Nov - Saturday 25 Nov :::
Selefu
Zimbabwe, Mugabe
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort