The Monitor :: Sport Not Just A Game Anymore
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 17 September 2019, 18:10 pm.
Banners
Sport Not Just A Game Anymore

Imagine waking up to empty stadiums, deserted training fields and yawning boxing rings. Weekends would never be the same. And critically, the economy would suffer. Sport has ceased to be just a weekend pastime for lazy bones.
By Monitor Editor Mon 07 Mar 2016, 15:09 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Sport Not Just A Game Anymore








It has evolved into a gigantic multimillion pula industry which is a critical source of employment.  Up to now sport has elevated the status of such luminaries like Nijel Amos, Mogakolodi Ngele and others to international stardom.

The country derives a lot of benefits from the game and therefore, its growth is key. However, the administration of sport is shared with two other departments; culture and youth. Inevitably, the Minister of Youth, Sport and Culture, Thapelo Olopeng has to spread his duties among the three departments.  We believe sport deserves more than a shared ministry; it deserves undivided attention. Sport,  is a massive catalyst for job creation, particularly among the youth.

At a time when additional ministries are being created to ease burden or to share load, the ministry should be considered.Focused attention on sport yields positive results in view of the need to create jobs, as it becomes more competitive.

We are of the view that a separate ministry would re-energise a section reeling from underfunding and the resultant desolation.

Banners

Government contributes around a paltry P70million annually towards the Sports Commission for distribution to nearly 40 affiliates. 

This means that on average, the affiliates have to share around P2million each, a pittance if really, sport should develop and blossom. Olopeng has proved to be a capable and energetic minister, but he will always have his plate full by conducting three choirs simulteneously.  Sport as it is widely acknowledged, has ceased to be a pastime and this should be reflected at national level.

The pace at which local sports has matured should encourage its leaders to advocate for a larger slice of the cake. Botswana, despite a relatively small population and limited resources, has already produced a world champion and an Olympic medallist. The Zebras qualified for a major continental tournament, the Africa Cup of Nations. All these achievements should be loud enough to trigger a paradigm shift and a clarion call shouted from the hill tops of Tsodilo saying: “We have what it takes. We can do more!”

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 07 Mar 2016, 15:09 pm
Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:36 pm
Mon 22 Feb 2016, 16:26 pm
Mon 15 Feb 2016, 12:33 pm
Mon 08 Feb 2016, 15:17 pm
Mon 01 Feb 2016, 12:54 pm
Mon 25 Jan 2016, 12:05 pm
Mon 18 Jan 2016, 14:51 pm
Mon 11 Jan 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 21 Dec 2015, 15:22 pm
Mon 14 Dec 2015, 14:39 pm
Mon 07 Dec 2015, 16:21 pm
Mon 30 Nov 2015, 14:57 pm
Mon 23 Nov 2015, 09:45 am
Mon 16 Nov 2015, 15:07 pm
Mon 09 Nov 2015, 13:40 pm
Mon 02 Nov 2015, 15:31 pm
Mon 26 Oct 2015, 12:55 pm
Mon 19 Oct 2015, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Oct 2015, 16:05 pm
Mon 05 Oct 2015, 11:15 am
Mon 28 Sep 2015, 15:31 pm
Mon 21 Sep 2015, 15:51 pm
Mon 14 Sep 2015, 16:17 pm
Mon 07 Sep 2015, 15:12 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 17 Sep - Tuesday 17 Sep :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 17 Sep - Tuesday 17 Sep :::
Selefu
Let Them Go!!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners