The Monitor :: The Impending Four Months Of Thirst
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 13 December 2018, 12:33 pm.
Banners
The Impending Four Months Of Thirst

The Water Utilities Corporation (WUC) released a statement Friday announcing they were shutting down the Mmamashia water treatment plant for refurbishment for a period lasting four months.
By Monitor Editor Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:36 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: The Impending Four Months Of Thirst








Interestingly, the WUC did not go into details, the specific details that the public need to arm themselves with and prepare for  what could possibly be the  worst four months of  thirst in Gaborone and the surrounding areas.

The announcement lacked  such important details as the capacity of water that will be supplied to the Gaborone region, from alternative sources other than Mmamashia treatment plant, which will not be pumping anything at all in the  four months starting this week.

The public deserves to know in advance  exactly how much shortage they will be  subjected to so that they can make adjustments. In fact, it is rather unfortunate that the would be affected communities have only been notified a week before the water  authority embarks on such a  huge project that would leave people in dire straits for four months.

We wonder then whether the

Banners

water utilities’ latest project was an after-thought.

For if it was planned ahead, then the water authority would have known the importance of letting the public know about this coming predicament months before it happens, to enable them to sort out issues of budget so they  can invest in priorities such as buying jojo’s for over P5,000, and stocking them up in readiness for this coming problem.

There is no doubt that within the four months that the people of Gaborone and surrounding areas, who together form the bulk of the country’s population, could be hit by hygiene related illnesses as a result of lack of adequate clean  drinking water.

The water utilities owes us an explanation. We need to know how they will be supplying the greater Gaborone area with water and of what quantity, in the midst of this confusion.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:36 pm
Mon 22 Feb 2016, 16:26 pm
Mon 15 Feb 2016, 12:33 pm
Mon 08 Feb 2016, 15:17 pm
Mon 01 Feb 2016, 12:54 pm
Mon 25 Jan 2016, 12:05 pm
Mon 18 Jan 2016, 14:51 pm
Mon 11 Jan 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 21 Dec 2015, 15:22 pm
Mon 14 Dec 2015, 14:39 pm
Mon 07 Dec 2015, 16:21 pm
Mon 30 Nov 2015, 14:57 pm
Mon 23 Nov 2015, 09:45 am
Mon 16 Nov 2015, 15:07 pm
Mon 09 Nov 2015, 13:40 pm
Mon 02 Nov 2015, 15:31 pm
Mon 26 Oct 2015, 12:55 pm
Mon 19 Oct 2015, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Oct 2015, 16:05 pm
Mon 05 Oct 2015, 11:15 am
Mon 28 Sep 2015, 15:31 pm
Mon 21 Sep 2015, 15:51 pm
Mon 14 Sep 2015, 16:17 pm
Mon 07 Sep 2015, 15:12 pm
Mon 31 Aug 2015, 15:45 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Thursday 13 Dec - Thursday 13 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 13 Dec - Thursday 13 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 13 Dec - Thursday 13 Dec :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners
Banners
resim y√ľkle