The Monitor :: Botswana Impressive on Civil Liberties But Other Indices Must Improve
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 18 September 2019, 18:15 pm.
Banners
Botswana Impressive on Civil Liberties But Other Indices Must Improve

The latest Global Democracy Index, formulates an impressive picture about Botswana’s state of democracy, in particular in the ratings of civil liberties.
By Monitor Editor Mon 01 Feb 2016, 12:54 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Botswana Impressive on Civil Liberties But Other Indices Must Improve








Indeed this should  come as a moral booster to those entrusted with ensuring that civil liberties in Botswana are nourished, promoted and protected, from democratic institutions to law enforcement agencies, and to the peace loving public of Botswana.

Civil liberty is perhaps the most important indicator of a functioning democracy as it indicates the state of peace, human rights respect, freedom of choice and association, and generally living without fear. This is perhaps the ultimate goal of humanity.

It is perhaps of significance to note that in civil liberties, the latest ratings put Botswana at par with some of the most admired democracies, the most developed nations of the world, consequently causing one to pause and reflect on what we often take for granted.

Botswana’s civil liberties index has been placed at par with  such reference points as Denmark, Switzerland, Netherlands,

Banners

the United Kingdom, Austria, Spain, Belgium, Portugal, Czech Republic, Greece, to name a few. In highly developed countries, Botswana’s civil liberties index has been rated above the  USA, and France.

Batswana must thank themselves and their institutions for building a desirable place, one of the finest in the world. Being ranked alongside the likes of the UK, Denmark, Switzerland, in civil liberties should be seen as an honour.

A number of factors count towards civil liberties, including free access to amenities such as water, electricity, healthcare, education, jobs, some of which today are under attack as a result of factors ranging from climatic change to political ineptitude.

It is the duty of everyone to guard jealously against any man-made factors that threaten to wipe away the gains our stable democracy. The only way should be up, and not down.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 01 Feb 2016, 12:54 pm
Mon 25 Jan 2016, 12:05 pm
Mon 18 Jan 2016, 14:51 pm
Mon 11 Jan 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 21 Dec 2015, 15:22 pm
Mon 14 Dec 2015, 14:39 pm
Mon 07 Dec 2015, 16:21 pm
Mon 30 Nov 2015, 14:57 pm
Mon 23 Nov 2015, 09:45 am
Mon 16 Nov 2015, 15:07 pm
Mon 09 Nov 2015, 13:40 pm
Mon 02 Nov 2015, 15:31 pm
Mon 26 Oct 2015, 12:55 pm
Mon 19 Oct 2015, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Oct 2015, 16:05 pm
Mon 05 Oct 2015, 11:15 am
Mon 28 Sep 2015, 15:31 pm
Mon 21 Sep 2015, 15:51 pm
Mon 14 Sep 2015, 16:17 pm
Mon 07 Sep 2015, 15:12 pm
Mon 31 Aug 2015, 15:45 pm
Mon 24 Aug 2015, 14:37 pm
Mon 17 Aug 2015, 11:54 am
Mon 10 Aug 2015, 17:32 pm
Mon 03 Aug 2015, 16:06 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Thursday 19 Sep - Thursday 19 Sep :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 19 Sep - Thursday 19 Sep :::
Selefu
Mama! Mama!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners