The Monitor :: On the eighth day, the Pope became a meme, Twitter had no chill that day #PopeBars
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 22 November 2018, 12:31 pm.
Banners
On the eighth day, the Pope became a meme, Twitter had no chill that day #PopeBars

While some of you weren’t looking, Twitter took the liberty of creating a hashtag dedicated to the Pope.
By Correspondent Tue 01 Dec 2015, 10:38 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: On the eighth day, the Pope became a meme, Twitter had no chill that day #PopeBars








The hashtag, #PopeBars, stemmed from a photo of Pope Francis during one of his stops on his African tour. The photo, which captures the pope holding a microphone with a stern expression and his head cocked to the side, inspired Twitter to use the hashtag, accompanied with made up freestyle verses of what Pope Francis would actually rap about if he was a rapper.

In all of its ignorance and hilarity, Twitter came up with some amusing raps lyrics, referencing the Bible, Jesus and other notable aspects of Christianity.

The rap lyrics also borrowed some bars from recognizable songs in hip hop such as Notorious B.I.G.’s “Big Poppa”, Jay Z,  and Drake’s “Hotline Bling.”

@tres_stimulante P to the izz-O, P to the izz-E, fo' sheezy my neezy keep the Virgin so breezy #PopeBars

‏@chrismelberger thoughts on God? - real, fav prayer position? - kneel, shuffle the cards - deal,, body of Christ - meal

Banners

#popebars

@DareToJese His psalms are sweaty, knees weak, cross is heavy. There's vomit on his robe already, Vatican spaghetti #PopeBars

@MichaelSkolnik  So I just speak my piece, keep my peace, Cubans with the Jesus piece, with my peeps #popebars

The make believe lyrics definitely brought the creativity with things like, “God is the Father, but all y”ll are my sons/Pray I don’t take your girl and make her one of my nuns.” Genius.

And in addition to the comedic lyrics, it isn’t a true Twitter showdown if some one doesn’t bring some Photoshopped images to the newsfeed. When some one Photoshopped the album art work for the pope’s fictional album, Holy Ghost, it triggered Twitter to come up with a full track list.

It’s highly unlikely that Pope Francis will come out with a rap album any time soon, but leave it up to Twitter to take something and run with it.

VIBE

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 01 Dec 2015, 10:38 am
Mon 30 Nov 2015, 17:52 pm
Mon 23 Nov 2015, 16:17 pm
Tue 10 Nov 2015, 17:34 pm
Mon 02 Nov 2015, 19:23 pm
Tue 27 Oct 2015, 18:24 pm
Mon 26 Oct 2015, 15:07 pm
Mon 19 Oct 2015, 17:45 pm
Tue 13 Oct 2015, 09:29 am
Mon 05 Oct 2015, 16:24 pm
Mon 28 Sep 2015, 17:07 pm
Tue 22 Sep 2015, 14:37 pm
Wed 19 Aug 2015, 12:08 pm
Mon 27 Jul 2015, 10:11 am
Tue 14 Jul 2015, 14:14 pm
Tue 07 Jul 2015, 09:47 am
Mon 29 Jun 2015, 17:24 pm
Tue 23 Jun 2015, 12:48 pm
Tue 16 Jun 2015, 13:02 pm
Mon 15 Jun 2015, 17:00 pm
Tue 09 Jun 2015, 06:00 am
Tue 02 Jun 2015, 06:00 am
Mon 25 May 2015, 16:49 pm
Tue 19 May 2015, 00:14 am
Tue 21 Apr 2015, 16:55 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Hunter Killer
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Thursday 22 Nov - Thursday 29 Nov :::
    Hunter Killer
    Ralph Breaks the Internet
    Widows
    Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 22 Nov - Thursday 22 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 22 Nov - Thursday 22 Nov :::
Selefu
For the love of dictatorships.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort