Mmegi Online :: As famine threatens... a re ipelegeng
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 30 August 2016, 16:03 pm.
Banners
As famine threatens... a re ipelegeng

Many parts of Africa are facing severe drought because of climate change. This is not the first time that we have faced this catastrophic natural disaster.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 13 Nov 2015, 15:00 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: As famine threatens... a re ipelegeng








Many will recall the 1980s famine in the Horn of Africa, which claimed hundreds of lives. The horror pictures of death of citizens of countries such as Ethiopia and Somalia did not hit home until an award winning picture of a Mail & Guardian (now Weekly Mail) photographer, Kevin Carter of a vulture hovering above a malnutritioned dying Sudanese child. The photographer, though he later committed suicide following the barrage of criticism, showed the world, through the lens, the real picture of drought and famine in war zones.

We could as well be back there, as still in the Horn of Africa and most parts of southern Africa, millions of people are facing hunger and water shortages because of the drought. This is what Botswana is faced with today, no rains and extreme heat which is threatening to leave a trail of disaster.

Livestock and wild animals are starting to fall and die from poor grazing and water shortage.

Africa, a continent prone to civil wars and corruption that has led to a struggling to feed its own, the worst of natural disaster could spell doom.

But we can do something about our situation and stop looking for handouts from the West. 

We have over the years managed to train scientists, engineers, climatologists, doctors and others to better our lives and even help where natural disasters threaten us. Everyday, people are researching to find better

Banners

ways to improve their lives when faced with a hostile nature.

Africa should embrace research institutions to complement learning institutions such as universities. The African Union, and regional blocks such as Southern African Development Community, Economic Community of West Africa, the Maghrib, and East African Economic Block should build more research institutions that will focus on studying the continent’s climate patterns and find solutions to the problems. These institutions should also research on possible ways to make rain, such as cloud seeding as suggested by climatologists. 

We cannot sit back and hope that things will change for better when we are not playing our part.

 Our country in particular, should engage experts from other countries where the aforementioned idea is practised. We are aware that there are countries that have adopted these methods, and they have normal rains, grazing land, and produce food for themselves.

It is time to embrace new technologies to fight this drought. It starts with curiosity and willingness to try new things. They may not work for us today, tomorrow, next week or next year, but with constant research and practice, we might one day get there.

Let us remember that man is the only animal on planet earth, that has come up with inventions to make its live more comfortable. A re ipelegeng MaAforika.

Today’s thought

“You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water”

 

-Rabindranath Tagora

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 13 Nov 2015, 15:00 pm
Thu 12 Nov 2015, 11:56 am
Wed 11 Nov 2015, 12:52 pm
Tue 10 Nov 2015, 16:21 pm
Fri 06 Nov 2015, 13:31 pm
Thu 05 Nov 2015, 12:05 pm
Wed 04 Nov 2015, 16:18 pm
Tue 03 Nov 2015, 15:27 pm
Fri 30 Oct 2015, 14:45 pm
Thu 29 Oct 2015, 15:48 pm
Wed 28 Oct 2015, 14:41 pm
Tue 27 Oct 2015, 14:30 pm
Fri 23 Oct 2015, 14:06 pm
Thu 22 Oct 2015, 11:25 am
Wed 21 Oct 2015, 15:36 pm
Tue 20 Oct 2015, 14:58 pm
Fri 16 Oct 2015, 15:32 pm
Thu 15 Oct 2015, 14:19 pm
Wed 14 Oct 2015, 14:46 pm
Tue 13 Oct 2015, 14:51 pm
Fri 09 Oct 2015, 15:46 pm
Thu 08 Oct 2015, 14:52 pm
Wed 07 Oct 2015, 15:51 pm
Tue 06 Oct 2015, 11:17 am
Fri 02 Oct 2015, 12:16 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Tuesday, 30 Aug 2016
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.7759
1 GBP = Pula   14.0845
1 EUR = Pula   12.0337
1 YEN = Pula   0.1054
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7454
1 Pula = USD   0.0928
1 Pula = GBP   0.071
1 Pula = EUR   0.0831
1 Pula = YEN   9.49
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3415
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Star Trek Beyond
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 26 Aug - Thursday 01 Sep :::
    Star Trek Beyond
    Nine Lives
    The Shallows
    Kubo and the Two Strings
    Bad Moms
    Suicide Squad
  • Previous
    Kubo and the Two Strings
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 26 Aug - Thursday 01 Sep :::
    Kubo and the Two Strings
    Star Trek Beyond
    Bad Moms
    Suicide Squad
  • Previous
    Nine Lives
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 26 Aug - Thursday 01 Sep :::
    Nine Lives
    Star Trek Beyond
    Kubo and the Two Strings
    Bad Moms
    Suicide Squad
Banners
Selefu
Kaffir Racism
Banners