The Monitor :: 'Suitcase boy' smuggled into Spain reunited with mother
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 18 June 2019, 14:47 pm.
Banners
'Suitcase boy' smuggled into Spain reunited with mother

An eight-year-old Ivorian boy discovered being smuggled into Spain from Morocco in a suitcase has been reunited with his mother.
By Correspondent Tue 09 Jun 2015, 06:00 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: 'Suitcase boy' smuggled into Spain reunited with mother








 

Adou Ouattara was said to be in a "terrible state" when he was found last month in a bag without air vents at the Spanish enclave of Ceuta.
The boy's father was arrested for arranging his son to be smuggled, but is due to be released on bail.
The Moroccan woman who carried him in has also been detained.
The boy underwent DNA tests before the Spanish authorities would hand him over to his mother, who lives legally on Spain's Canary Islands.
"His mother cried. It's a very beautiful day," Maria Antonia Palomo, the Ceuta official in charge of juvenile affairs, told AFP.

Adou Ouattara was said to be in a "terrible state"

Banners

when he was found last month in a bag without air vents at the Spanish enclave of Ceuta.

The boy's father was arrested for arranging his son to be smuggled, but is due to be released on bail.The Moroccan woman who carried him in has also been detained.The boy underwent DNA tests before the Spanish authorities would hand him over to his mother, who lives legally on Spain's Canary Islands.

"His mother cried. It's a very beautiful day," Maria Antonia Palomo, the Ceuta official in charge of juvenile affairs, told AFP.

The father, who also lives on the Canary Islands, reportedly tried to bring his son into Spain through legal means but his income fell short of the amount required by law.

He has said he did not know the plan to bring his son into Spain would involve a suitcase.

Officials have granted the boy a year to stay in Spain.

The incident highlights the often desperate, dangerous means migrants use to try to make it into Europe through Ceuta, and another Spanish enclave, Melilla.

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 09 Jun 2015, 06:00 am
Tue 02 Jun 2015, 06:00 am
Mon 25 May 2015, 16:49 pm
Tue 19 May 2015, 00:14 am
Tue 21 Apr 2015, 16:55 pm
Tue 24 Mar 2015, 14:17 pm
Mon 23 Mar 2015, 12:28 pm
Mon 16 Mar 2015, 14:39 pm
Tue 03 Mar 2015, 07:00 am
Fri 20 Feb 2015, 18:11 pm
Mon 16 Feb 2015, 17:00 pm
Mon 09 Feb 2015, 10:22 am
Mon 12 Jan 2015, 13:11 pm
Mon 20 Oct 2014, 22:52 pm
Tue 14 Oct 2014, 09:00 am
Mon 15 Sep 2014, 15:00 pm
Mon 11 Aug 2014, 07:00 am
Sat 21 Jun 2014, 17:33 pm
Tue 03 Jun 2014, 07:09 am
Fri 23 May 2014, 18:16 pm
Wed 21 May 2014, 15:23 pm
Mon 12 May 2014, 22:55 pm
Wed 07 May 2014, 18:14 pm
Tue 29 Apr 2014, 09:32 am
Tue 15 Apr 2014, 10:05 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Thursday 20 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Rocketman
    Godzilla: King of the Monsters
    Aladdin
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
  • Previous
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Thursday 20 Jun :::
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Godzilla: King of the Monsters
    Aladdin
  • Previous
    Aladdin
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Thursday 20 Jun :::
    Aladdin
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    Godzilla: King of the Monsters
Selefu
The new Kid on the Block!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners