Mmegi Blogs :: Give Mamelodi that BFA CEO post
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 21 November 2018, 15:42 pm.
Banners
Give Mamelodi that BFA CEO post

The search is on for a suitable candidate for the Botswana Football Association (BFA) Chief Executive Officer (CEO) position. The football governing body has been without a substantive CEO since February when the association unceremoniously parted ways with Englishman Keith Masters. Names have been dropped and one name in particular caught my attention. When the name was mentioned, I immediately liked the idea of having him as CEO.
By Thuso Palai Tue 14 Apr 2015, 23:54 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Give Mamelodi that BFA CEO post








The current CEO of the Botswana Premier League Bennet ‘The Diving’ Mamelodi has been hush-hush mentioned as a possible candidate to replace Keith Masters. And as was expected he has flatly denied the link. I’m not surprised. He is a very ambitious gentleman and if courted, on his terms, he cannot down the opportunity. That I’m pretty sure off. Both parties are keeping their cards close to their chest and not letting anything out. That is to be expected as the BFA has to leave no stone unturned and  look wide for a substantive replacement.

Bennet Mamelodi has proved his mettle at the helm of the BPL. He has ruffled a few feathers along the way, but gets things done. No longer do we have teams doing as they please. There is a degree of order. He has not always made the popular decisions and has irked some, but he always stands by and justifies his decisions. He takes initiative and is a risk taker who understands the business of football and what football in Botswana deserves from the different partners and stakeholders. 

With the current BFA leadership touting privatisation and commercialisation as a major deliverable in their tenure, they might just have their man to steer the ship towards that privatisation and commercialisation in Bennet Mamelodi. He is knowledgeable about Botswana football and its dynamics. He has the necessary experience, having dealt with the harsh and once mumbo-jumbled BPL office. He has brought stability to the BPL office and has won many hearts. He has a business

Banners

mind and understands the business of football.

Yes he has goofed up here and there, but on the whole he has brought more positives than negatives To the BPL and indeed Botswana football.  One might say he has had accusations of mismanagement and favouritism levelled at him, but then again who hasn’t. He has always come out and nothing untoward has been pinned on him.

There was at some point murmurs of a rift between him and the BFA President but that seems like water under the bridge now. The Sebego – Mamelodi combination might just be the right tonic for our football in the remainder of Sebego’s tenure. Both of them are proud, but if they could control their somewhat inflated egos and work together, they could make a great combination and complement each other.

The BFA has looked from within and afar for someone to turn around its fortunes and have for the most part fallen short in the recent past. They have not appointed someone with lasting powers and the balls to ruffle a few feathers while getting some work done. We have had the likes of Styles Ntshinogang, Thuso Dikgaka, Tosh Kgotlele, Judge Mookodi and the recent former in Keith Masters.

All of them had their moments but did not bring much ooooomph to the BFA and Botswana football. I have a feeling Mamelodi would bring some stability, change and bite to the position. We have taken risks with the position before, and surely giving Mamelodi a chance wouldn’t be a huge risk.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


YoungManPal Uncut
Tue 14 Apr 2015, 23:54 pm
Wed 08 Apr 2015, 11:59 am
Tue 24 Mar 2015, 12:46 pm
Thu 19 Mar 2015, 18:28 pm
Sun 15 Mar 2015, 12:43 pm
Wed 04 Mar 2015, 17:20 pm
Fri 20 Feb 2015, 17:52 pm
Fri 13 Feb 2015, 10:25 am
Thu 05 Feb 2015, 17:11 pm
Wed 28 Jan 2015, 15:17 pm
Wed 21 Jan 2015, 11:04 am
Fri 16 Jan 2015, 12:50 pm
Thu 08 Jan 2015, 18:05 pm
Wed 17 Dec 2014, 09:10 am
Thu 11 Dec 2014, 10:36 am
Mon 01 Dec 2014, 09:37 am
Tue 18 Nov 2014, 12:52 pm
Tue 11 Nov 2014, 09:56 am
Wed 22 Oct 2014, 19:39 pm
Wed 15 Oct 2014, 15:02 pm
Mon 06 Oct 2014, 13:16 pm
Tue 23 Sep 2014, 15:47 pm
Tue 16 Sep 2014, 11:02 am
Tue 09 Sep 2014, 11:53 am
Fri 18 Jul 2014, 13:11 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
Selefu
When two elephants fight...
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort