The Monitor :: Indian bridegroom dumped over failed maths test
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 19 July 2019, 13:17 pm.
Banners
Indian bridegroom dumped over failed maths test

An Indian bride has walked out of her wedding after her bridegroom-to-be failed to solve a simple maths problem, according to police in Uttar Pradesh.
By Correspondent Mon 16 Mar 2015, 14:39 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Indian bridegroom dumped over failed maths test








The bride asked the groom to add 15 and six. When he replied 17, she called off the marriage.

Reports say the groom's family tried to convince the bride to return, but she refused saying the man was illiterate.

Local police said they mediated between the families, and both sides returned all the gifts given before the wedding.

Most marriages in India are arranged by the families, and it is common for a bride and groom to get married without spending time in each other's company.

A police official of Rasoolabad village where the incident happened told BBC Hindi that local resident Mohar Singh had fixed

Banners

his daughter Lovely's wedding to a man called Ram Baran.

"But just before the marriage ceremony Lovely came to know that Ram Baran is illiterate and she refused to marry," he said.

Mohar Singh told the Associated Press news agency that the "groom's family had kept us in the dark about his poor education".

"Even a first grader can answer this [the maths test]," he said.

Last month, another bride in Uttar Pradesh married a guest at her wedding after her groom-to-be had a seizure and collapsed.

Reports said the groom was epileptic and he had kept the information from the bride and her family.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Mon 16 Mar 2015, 14:39 pm
Tue 03 Mar 2015, 07:00 am
Fri 20 Feb 2015, 18:11 pm
Mon 16 Feb 2015, 17:00 pm
Mon 09 Feb 2015, 10:22 am
Mon 12 Jan 2015, 13:11 pm
Mon 20 Oct 2014, 22:52 pm
Tue 14 Oct 2014, 09:00 am
Mon 15 Sep 2014, 15:00 pm
Mon 11 Aug 2014, 07:00 am
Sat 21 Jun 2014, 17:33 pm
Tue 03 Jun 2014, 07:09 am
Fri 23 May 2014, 18:16 pm
Wed 21 May 2014, 15:23 pm
Mon 12 May 2014, 22:55 pm
Wed 07 May 2014, 18:14 pm
Tue 29 Apr 2014, 09:32 am
Tue 15 Apr 2014, 10:05 am
Mon 07 Apr 2014, 16:41 pm
Mon 24 Mar 2014, 16:41 pm
Thu 13 Mar 2014, 16:26 pm
Tue 11 Mar 2014, 14:42 pm
Tue 04 Mar 2014, 15:33 pm
Tue 25 Feb 2014, 15:17 pm
Mon 24 Feb 2014, 15:38 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Lion King
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 17 Jul - Thursday 25 Jul :::
    The Lion King
    Spider-Man: Far from Home
    Anna
    Stuber
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Child's Play
    The Lion King
    Spider-Man: Far from Home
    Anna
  • Previous
    Child
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 17 Jul - Thursday 25 Jul :::
    Child's Play
    The Lion King
    Spider-Man: Far from Home
    Avengers: Endgame
Selefu
Whenever you are ready Lieutenant General!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners